It Wasn’t Actually That Bad

Only hours to go now before “the bells” here in Scotland. But already, I’m getting ahead of myself! – Did you have a nice Christmas? (Don’t worry, I don’t expect you to actually tell me or shout at your screen, people might worry. I  should have instead said: I hope you had a nice Christmas! I certainly did: wonderful Christmas build up, wonderful Christmas day, lots of presents, lots of cheer… the usual. Still no Santa, sadly.

My motivation for this post isn’t only because it is Hogmanay, but also because I remembered what I was doing exactly this time last year. I was here, writing a similar post only with a lot more depression. I went on, and on, and on, about how rubbish a year 2012 was. I remember that only a week later, I contradicted myself by scrapping that thought after I had some time to actually think about what I achieved in 2012.

I’m not doing that this year. This year, I am happy. I know that this year has been absolutely fantastic. Honestly. So much has happened this year both for the little things related to my blog and more importantly, the big things that have happened in my life.

If I had to list and give a description of every single one (should I remember them all at once), I would be publishing record breaking posts because of the sheer length of them!

Before I do share a few of the magical moments and experiences in 2013, I want to share with you a list I made this time last year. It is a miniature bucket list  of things I wanted to accomplish and do this year. I published it for a little while and  then didn’t see any sense in it and so set it aside. As I came across it today, I was amazed at how many of these things I actually accomplished without realising! Here is the list, which I amended today according to my experiences in 2013!

  • Pass all of my exams and get as good a grade as possible for every subject (even French!)
  • Publish a blog post every day for as long as I can (exam times may be allowed as an excuse)
  • Make many new friends and socialize as much as possible!
  • Play an organ
  • Pass Grade 4 piano and get started on grade 5!
  • Earn money from doing something outside of the house (e.g. a job)
  • Compose my own piece of music
  • Explore/ Go to at least 5 new places
  • Write a book (a short one or long one, depending on laziness level) just for the experience of it, not necessarily for publishing
  • Perform at least once, playing piano with an audience
  • Record some piano works
  • Publish at least 200 photography works
  • Try videography
  • Try at least 3 new different, foreign foods
  • Reach 15,000 views on my blog
  • Do something for charity
  • Successfully bake/cook at least 5 things
  • See at least two shows at the theatre
  • Write at least 15 short stories and publish them on my blog
  • Learn how to play basic guitar
  • Play piano with a group of musicians
  • Do some voluntary work
  • Climb something other than a ladder
  • Buy a fez

Ok, so I never blogged everyday, nor baked any cakes (well, there was that one disaster Christmas cake that I don’t want to mention) but the most gutting of all… I never bought a fez!

Well, I’ve made a really poor attempt at creating a dazzling end of year display of a few things I’ve accomplished, been through, experienced etc. this year… but hey, enjoy!

2013

 Well, I’m off into the living room to sip on my cola  and nibble at some shortbread. I have some great ambitions, plans and feelings for 2014 and I hope you can all join me in that as Hawth.me goes through yet another year. I hope the new year brings you all good will, hope and fresh beginnings!

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Aaron 🙂

Comment:

