Come Back Santa!

Well, would you look at that – it’s Christmas Eve! It must be an add-on to this whole ‘growing up’ thing, that time just flies so quickly.

I’m happy. No, we aren’t going back to pre-school sentences, but I can see no other way of putting it; I am happy. Why? Because Santa Claus comes tonight… or at least I wish he would.

It’s something I’ve been missing for the past few years, and close your eyes for the next bit kids, since I found out. 

I miss the joy of writing letters to Santa…

I miss the thrill of receiving a reply from Santa promising (almost) everything on my list…

I miss that feeling as Christmas eve comes to a close…

I miss the art of filling a glass with milk and covering a plate with biscuits…

I miss writing a note, thanking him for his time and effort…

I miss neatly placing each item on the living-room coffee table…

I miss having one last glimpse of the decorated and lit living-room before leaving the room…

I miss tip-toeing into my bedroom with my mum shortly behind…

I miss climbing into bed, and being tucked in under the multiple layers of blankets…

I miss my mum’s “goodnight, I’ll see you on Christmas day!”…

I miss the light being put out as I slide beneath the covers…

I miss not being able to sleep for what seemed like hours…

I miss sneaking out of bed and looking out of the window to see Santa Claus…

I miss running back into bed as I hear clunks in the living room…

I miss dosing off to sleep, knowing that I’ll wake up to a beautiful, new day…

I miss being wakened up by my mum, making sure I know what day it is…

I miss waiting outside the living room door as my dad was getting everything in order…

I miss my dad opening the living room door and saying something like “Santa’s been!”…

I miss running into a forest of red, green, gold and blue wrapping paper…

I miss opening a card from Santa, thanking me for the milk and biscuits…

I miss Santa Claus. 

I’m guessing you get the point. I’m missing Santa Claus… a lot. 

I guess I’ll just have to continue growing up like the rest of them.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Hi Aaron, I guess Santa will become part of your trove of treasured memories. You may grow to be an adult intent on keeping the spirit of Santa alive and well.

    Like

Comment:

