Grow Wild!

I was approached earlier today with an email. An email which has boosted my hope for mankind, hope which I was lacking… until now.

This nicely written email told me of the “Grow Wild” campaign. I’m no good at putting things into my own words so I cheated and copied and pasted a little excerpt from the Grow Wild site – I’m sure/ I hope they don’t mind!

Grow Wild is an exciting four-year campaign to bring people together to sow UK native wild flowers.

We believe that we can transform where we live – bringing colour and surprise to our streets. By Growing Wild, we can turn our gardens and windowsills into wildlife-friendly wild flower patches.

Grow Wild is funded by the Big Lottery Fund and led by the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew  – and everyone is invited to join in.

I love the idea of the whole campaign and I love what the campaign is doing. And before I get ahead of myself with my unnecessary opinions, here’s where you come in:

http://vote.growwilduk.com

You can help decide the fate (fate may be a bit too extreme)… You can help totally change a site in Scotland for the better with one click and not a penny taken off of you. You can vote (using the link above) on which of the three sites you want to turn into a “beautiful wild flower haven for everyone to enjoy”. Even if you don’t know the area (or if you are from the other side of the world!) you can see photos of each site and what will be done to the site should it receive the most votes and be in receipt of a great new transformation!

I truly do believe that this campaign is a brilliant idea. I was saying before about how my hope for mankind has boosted, this also is true. It just goes to show that there are people out there who do care about the environment and who do want to make a difference! And you can make a difference too – your vote is valuable!

Psst… You better hurry and vote, because votes will only be accepted up until midnight on 3rd November 2013 and the winner will be announced in mid-november! Go on, make a difference to somewhere that needs this opportunity!

Comment:

