Life With Unique Parents

on

20130725-161412.jpg

I love my parents, I really do! However, there are times I do wonder about them…

They are unique parents. For example, the photo above. They are McDonald’s toys you get with a Happy Meal. My dad decided he wanted to get all of the minions from the film, Despicable Me, since there are nine to collect.

So, my mum and dad – partners in crime- go into McDonald’s and ask for all the minions. Luckily, I wasn’t there but the story is enough to keep me slightly embarrassed, especially since half of my school’s leavers work there.

My dad has done this before; when the Shrek toys came out with the Happy Meals, we travelled up and down the length and breadth of the country to complete the even bigger collection of children’s toys.

I’m not saying I’m ashamed of my parents. To be ashamed of my parents is to be ungrateful and selfish. I guess I’ll look on it as an advantage, having the parents I’ve got. Not every mum and/or dad will go that extra mile and not care what anyone else thinks. They had YOLO in their minds way before it became popular.

And for that, I am extremely grateful. I also secretly wanted the minions as well. But don’t tell anyone. Shh.

Comment:

