Polite Company

Yet again, I’m going with WordPress’ DailyPost though not just for the sake of blogging but because I have a bit of a strong sort of opinion/ view on it.

This was the challenge: “It’s never a good idea to discuss religion or politics with people you don’t really know.” Agree or disagree?

I’m balanced  with this one. Gosh, I sound like I dot is on a regular basis, don’t I!?

To me, there doesn’t feel as if there is such a thing as religion when you are… well, anywhere really. The real place where it is a, not a danger, but a risk or a crossing of a line, is school. No one could give a care in the world in my school as to what your political views are and I’m sure it is the same for about 99% of other schools  around the world. However, when it comes to religion, it changes, totally.

Thankfully, there is no danger of war or hatred when mentioning religion in my school which I am grateful for because I know that there are schools that are much worse than mines.

No one seems to have faith. I’m not meaning a faith in a specific religion because who am I to tell people what they should and shouldn’t believe in? They don’t have faith in themselves when it comes down to religion because I guess they are scared and I’ve caught myself being like this a lot of times as well.

image

Being teenagers in a school full of fellow teenagers, it is un-cool to show any major signs of religion, it is geeky, needy and weird. I go to a Catholic school and I am a Catholic because I was brought up a Catholic and I will mostly likely be a Catholic for the rest of my days. I’m not afraid to say that online and anyone who judges me has a right tot their own opinion but no right to condemn  me or go against me just because of my beliefs, everyone believes in different things. However, I wouldn’t be so quick to shout this out to anyone I could in school.

One other thing which I nearly forgot, religion seems to link up to football an awful lot here in Scotland, I don’t know about anywhere else in the world. If you are this religion the  chances are you support this football club, if you are of that religion, you support that football club. Thankfully, I’m not a fan of football though I know of people who judge people by their religion linked with their preferred team.

I know that when out of school, people will explore religion a lot more, not being surrounded by the pressures and trends of teenage life and at the same time people will totally forget about religion whilst some peoples’ views will just stay the same.

As for politics… well, you are just seen as weirdo if you start to talk about that to anyone unless you are of course, a politician or a psycho or just a normal human being with a unique interest. Just my own view there, not a fan of politics, not sure if you can tell.

You should know: These are all my own thoughts and feelings and not meant to target any specific person or group of people. 🙂

(Typed on my tablet, so please, do excuse any daft typos which I have not been bothered to check for or remove myself.)

Comment:

