To End or Not To End, That is the Hilarious Question

ARGHH! RUN FOR YOUR LIVES! THE WORLD IS GONNA END IN ONLY A FEW DAYS!

Ok shut up Aaron. The world cannot simply just end. Despite all of the theories. In fact, that’s the problem- there are too many theories so I just can’t take the end of the world seriously.

Here are just some of the theories I’ve heard over the past few weeks.

The earth will stay just the same!  ©SiberianSweetcorn /MeHawthThe Earth is gonna cover the Sun – I kid you not. A few people have said that the earth will cover the sun on the 21st of December.  Now, don’t get me wrong but doesn’t the earth cover the sun everyday? I don’t want to sound a bit stupid but our earth rotates all the time and spins and all that jazz and one side of the earth is always a lot darker than the other depending on which time of day (or night) it is so therefore, the sun technically does cover the Earth everyday and we’re still not dead. Plus, if the earth were literally supposed to cover the sun, then… no. It’s impossible. The sun is at least a bazillion times bigger than the earth, isn’t it? (Possibly a slight exaggeration in there somewhere.)

Every signal in the world is gonna be non existent for three days – I kid you not (once again). Quite a number of people have mention similar things to this. I’ve been a genius and linked this to another theory – solar flares. Supposedly, solar flares can affect signals but apparently we’re getting better at adapting to these flares as weak flares are frequent and we’ve not had a major solar storm in years and even if we did we probably wouldn’t die as a result. Anyway, there was a time when the world survived just fine without any signals at all!

Planet ‘X’ will collide with us and make a dent – Dare I say I kid you notI kid you not (that’s three times). If this isn’t the most Doctor Who-y thing I’ve heard yet, I don’t know what is. The whole Planet X thing has been around for a while and I heard the theory way back earlier this year and possibly even some of last year. Everyone thinks this mysterious, terrifying planet will collide with ours and make us all die and stuff. After some highly scientific research through multiple files over a period of time (Googling for 5 minutes), I’ve came up with my reply to this theory which could potentially make a great stimulus for a great film.  First of all, I feel it is my duty to tell you that Planet X is a bike shop (seriously, Google it, it’s the first result!). Second of all, the actual Planet X  seems to be rather… fictional and there has been no proof to prove it exist. Take a look at what  NASA said about Planet X: 

Nibiru and other stories about wayward planets are an Internet hoax. There is no factual basis for these claims. If Nibiru or Planet X were real and headed for an encounter with the Earth in 2012, astronomers would have been tracking it for at least the past decade, and it would be visible by now to the naked eye. Obviously, it does not exist. Eris is real, but it is a dwarf planet similar to Pluto that will remain in the outer solar system; the closest it can come to Earth is about 4 billion miles.

So stick that up your telescope, humanity! 


I remember that earlier this year, I published a post similar to this trying to explain my feelings towards the end of the world. I remember asking myself if I would be scared by the time Doomsday as they are calling it, would come.

Now that it is apparently only days away, I’m not sure what to feel. I 1% believe that the world is going to end. There’s that little 1% of fear but I’m not going to break a sweat over it.

The other 99% of me thinks it’s a load of… let’s just say ‘garbage’ despite there being perfectly good ‘adult’ words for it.

The earth has been going for something like what, 4 billion years? I don’t think it would just suddenly end after doing so well.

But anyway, good luck to you on Doomsday and may you live your life as normal and see how idiotic we’ve all been when you see the world moving on as it has always done so well.

 

Comment:

