When I Grow Up…

Remember the days when you would say things like “When I grow up, I want to be a [insert job here]” ? Well, I do. I’m sure you do too. I guess it is something we gradually grew out of saying because really, we were growing up.

I’m a teen (obviously) and I feel as if I have my goal in life. I’ve changed what I want to do for a living so many times but I guess I’ve found my ideal job.

I want to be a music teacher, in a school.

Simple as that. From a very young age, I have always wanted to teach. However, growing up, many people tried to persuade me to go for jobs like a lawyer, or a doctor, or an entrepreneur. When I decided I wanted to be one of those things, I must just have been kidding myself on. I just feel as if my ideal job will be a music teacher. I love music, I love playing piano, have done since as far back as I can remember. I love it. I love sharing my knowledge with others and teaching people new things. I love the whole community of school life. Why would this not be the ideal job for me?

I don’t intent for this blog post to go into why I want to be a music teacher and what I’ll do. This post is entitled “When I Grow Up” which is exactly what I want to write about…

Okay, so I’ll have my career all sorted (hopefully, assuming I’ll do well in school, go to uni, and come out as a teacher) but what about the weekends when I have no work to go to? What about the holidays? What about the summer holidays, almost 7 weeks away from my job!

All this is what has been going through my mind recently.

I don’t want one single weekend of my life, spent entirely in the house, unless I’m unwell or for some other reason. Instead, I want to be out exploring the world.

Well, to a certain extent. Over the years of watching Air-crash Investigation I have built up quite a little fear of aeroplanes. So, unless I conquer my fear, I’m kinda stuck in the UK, or if I really wanted to, go through the channel tunnel, and into Europe.

But weekends? Europe? I don’t think so…

What I really mean is going out and about my local area, or even travelling Scotland, hopefully with my trusty camera. There is so much of my own country I haven’t seen believe it or not, and it is my life’s ambition to discover the true beauty of Scotland, because I know, it’s there somewhere. I’ve already been to some incredible places but I know, there are so much more.

Now I know, all these plans me be altered slightly. When I hopefully get a wife, weekends might be spent with her, but I hope she’ll enjoy exploring as much as I do. And hopefully, I’ll have kids, which will need a lot of care and attention at the weekends! But hey, family time is precious and there’s no better way of doing it than being outdoors.

As for the summer holidays? I’m going ultra style. Maybe I’ll do the following alone, or maybe with my girlfriend/fiancée/wife or even kids.

I’m going to Europe. About 7 weeks off? Why should I spend that time just sitting around in the house? I’ll travel to the most north place of Scotland, to the very south of England. I’ll get on that train to Calais and explore Europe.

And maybe, just maybe, if I was to propose to my girlfriend, I would do it on a summer’s night under the Eiffel Tower. It’s always been a sort of thing with me, that if I was to propose, I would do it in France, preferably Paris. I just hope my future wife doesn’t see this blog post, I want it to be a surprise!

But hey, that’s all later in life. I’m only a teenager just now, and I’m at the stage where I can get the key to the door, I’ll pass my exams, get my job and live life to the fullest.

Comment:

