Summer is here?

The past couple of days have been rather… what’s the word… summer like?

I don’t know what it is, but there are certain things that make a day feel summery.

One of the main things that make a summery day has to be the air. Now I know how stupid this sounds, but somehow, I think we can tell the season by the air. There’s a sort of presence in the air that helps us to sense. It may be a smell, and maybe even a taste!

English: Paythorne A summery view of the lane ...
Image via Wikipedia

Another thing is the light. Although it can be sunny no matter what the weather or season, there’s a certain thing about the light you get on a summer like day. The sky also usually makes a different, as long as their are some clear patches of blue sky, it’s a great summery day!

Cut grass certainly has an effect. The other day, when coming out of school, my friend and I smelt freshly cut grass. There is no greater smell, (well actually, there is a better smell; petrol of course.) And somehow, we both associated this with Summer.

But before I go any further, I must remind myself that it is only March, and Spring is slowly approaching. So if this is what the beginning of Spring, I can’t wait to see what this year’s summer is going to be like!

And I can’t wait to get out with my camera and go photo crazy! And don’t worry, (not that you are worrying though)

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Aaron says:

    Yeah, everything crossed!

    Like

  2. Fingers crossed for a long, warm, sunny summer 🙂

    Like

Comment:

