Christmas Wasn’t Christmas

on

So 5 days into the new year, and 11 days since Christmas, it occurred to me that not many people felt that Christmas didn’t seem very, well, Christmassy.

Christmas in the post-War United States
Image via Wikipedia

Some say it was because of the weather – for the past few years we’ve has snowy Decembers and even some white Christmases, so this year, since there wasn’t much snow around Christmas time, maybe we we just weren’t happy that we didn’t have a white Christmas at all.

Others say that there was a certain lack of “Joy” and “Happiness” and the usual “rush” . Shops still made millions, but apparently there just wasn’t that much talk of Christmas, and an unusual atmosphere for the time of year.

As for Christmas day, there just didn’t seem to be that usual feeling. Maybe, this is due to the fact that I am growing up, and realising new things and the whole thing about you know who…

I mean, in my household, we celebrated Christmas as usual, with lots of decorations, and we had our usual steak-pie dinner, and we had presents, but there was just that feeling as if someone had took half the colour away from a rainbow, but the rainbow was Christmas.

Another fact could be that people believe that that was the last ever Christmas. I’m talking about the people who believe that the world is going to end, just before Christmas, of this year. But I’m not going to ramble on about that, you can read what I think of that, here.

So, will next Christmas be back to normal, full of the Christmas cheer, the rush and joy? Or will it be the same as last year’s? Or worse?

One Comment Add yours

  1. Blogbiscuit says:

    I have to say I could have written this myself – although I didnt, Christmass was marred for us (my elder sister, my parents, and most of my family) due to my younger of two elder sisters fighting cancer, so the six months leading up to christmas was not, well as you put it, christmassy at all, this year just didnt seem festive for so many reasons to me, growing up, my eldest being 14 so he doesnt believe in santa now, keeping it alive for the youngest whilst grieving for us. it seemed a very commercial christmas this year, where as normally i am playing christmas songs from mid november to christmas day and beyond, getting all excited but this year i just couldnt.

    Like

Comment:

